President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has received the resignation letters of three Superintendents and two Ministers who have been qualified by the National Elections Commission (NEC) to participate in the forthcoming Special Senatorial Elections scheduled for later this year.

The resignations are consistent with a policy pronouncement by the Liberian President requesting all members of the Executive qualified by the NEC to participate in the upcoming senatorial election to resign their posts, according to an Executive Mansion.

Those who resigned their posts are Superintendents J. Milton Teahjay of Sinoe County, Daniel G. Johnson of River Gee County and Wellington Geevon Smith of Rivercess County as well as Mr. Conmany Wesseh, Minister of State Without Portfolio and Mr. Ranney Jackson, Deputy Minister for Operations, Ministry of Internal Affairs.

President Sirleaf praised the officials for adhering to the directive to resign and wished them well in their future endeavors.

She called on others in the same category to follow their example or face dismissal.

The Liberian leader’s pronouncement has laid the basis to ensure that public offices and resources are not used to influence the outcomes of electoral processes.